Day 54 (Bryce Canyon, UT ~ Zion, UT) – There’s always something to appreciate

I dedicated my day to Fabio Saxer who passed away due to Leukemia.

Day 54 dedication : I dedicated my day to Fabio Saxer who passed away due to Leukemia. He is Roland’s friend’s son.

# of miles : 73.0

Cumulative miles : 3450.9

Time spent on bike : 5:34:02

Route : Bryce Canyon, Utah ~ Zion, Utah (Shuttle from Zion to St. George)

It was just one more day until our rest day. Because of our ride into Escalante (the Devil’s backbone ride) , we were all looking forward to our rest day.

Though it felt like I slept for 2 hours, I got myself ready and excited for the day. We were headed to the Zion National Park, and then shuttling to St. George. Driving through the Zion National Park was beautiful, but biking through would have been a hassel because the roads were very narrow, without a shoulder (also, there were some tunnels with absolute no lights).
But today’s ride consisted of a lot of downhills. Though there were some uphills, they were babies compared to what we have done. Today I realized how much I appreciate biking. I am just thankful that I am able to bike. I intend to continue with biking even after the 4K is over.
Anyways, Utah has been great so far. I was kind of worried when I got to Utah, but now that I am experiencing it, I like it here! I don’t know what to expect of Nevada. People say there’s nothing there, but I am sure I will find something to appreciate there as well.
Now I am ready for the rest day 🙂 Tomorrow, we plan on going to the Zion National Park.
We saw a sweet rainbow in front of our host this evening 🙂

Double rainbow!

About irideforyou

This summer, I am joining 29 other awesome people in a fight against cancer by cycling across the U.S.A. Our journey starts at the Inner Harbor, Baltimore on May 27th, and ends at the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco on August 4th. I am dedicating this ride to my mom who fought off thyroid cancer. I'm sure this ride will be challenging, but what I will learn over the 70 days will outweigh the challenging aspect of the ride by far.
This entry was posted in 4K FOR CANCER and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 54 (Bryce Canyon, UT ~ Zion, UT) – There’s always something to appreciate

  1. Pingback: List of Days « irideforyou

  2. Pingback: List of Days « irideforyou

Leave a comment